I find myself back in Israel.  I have so much that I want to share with you… and so little time.   For this post, I think I will share with you some pictures I took early this morning while walking through the streets of Jerusalem.

EarlyMorningJeruselem01.jpg

I did not go into the office today but decided to sneak away and visit Jerusalem.   Being a bit weary of traffic, I left very early  and arrived before all of the shops were open.  What an amazing time to walk the streets.     You can take time and look at the shops with their colorful doors and really appreciate the arches as you walk under them.  There is something magical about the way the columns of light make their way down illuminating the narrow walkways.   (that was such a nice sentence…I should stop with that…  but I can’t help myself… so here comes more words)

EarlyMorningJeruselem2

I think in addition to all the aesthetics of this morning’s walk, the thing I appreciated most was not having people harshly telling me to move out of their way each time I stopped to take a picture.   That happened frequently after the crowds arrived and they were not using polite phrases like “excuse me” or “pardon”.  Worse I understood their insults.  You would hope they would at least have said those things in their native language. (That makes it so much easier to ignore)  Who ever said “names will never hurt” was not really listening to what they were being called.

EarlyMorningJeruselem6Here are the rest of the pictures I took during the morning time.   I have many more I want to share but I will do that in a following post.

EarlyMorningJeruselem3

EarlyMorningJeruselem4

EarlyMorningJeruselem7

EarlyMorningJeruselem10

EarlyMorningJeruselem11

EarlyMorningJeruselem12

EarlyMorningJeruselem13

I have two more pictures to share and they the type of pictures I like…. weird.    The first picture has a sign that I thought meant “No tractors”.   I now, after almost being run over by one, believe it means “warning tractors”.   I could be wrong, but if that is the case, the person driving the tracker was just as wrong.

EarlyMorningJeruselem9

The second photograph is well….

A men’s toilet taken from the street while looking in through the door.   I don’t often take these kind of pictures.  This time I was curious and not in the creepy way.  I just don’t understand what I was seeing on the right wall just through the door.    Is this a foot wash… some weird urinal… or maybe a squatting type of toilet?  I would love for anyone out there to explain what I was looking at.

EarlyMorningJeruselem16

Please come back later this week.  I will be posting more pictures from my Jerusalem visit.