Weekend Home – Wrap up for trip to Israel

I am finally home and enjoying time with my family… which includes boring them all to tears with my stories and pictures of Israel.   (I guess my trip story telling is not as exciting as actually being there…kids can be rough critics…)   I am going to rid myself of all of my desires to share my trip here… so in other words I will be boring all of you to tears!… (Sorry wished I could promise more… although there will be a weird picture or two)

Herzliya 02
Ben loved the idea of a big “chess” game…  I showed this to him while video chatting.   I think he was more excited to see this than me.

I stayed at Herods in the city of Herzliya.  (I finally know how to say the name of the place) I want to share some pictures of my hotel… ya… I know… if you are like my children you are rolling your eyes. You can look at them quickly if this bores you too much.

Herzliya 01
This is the garden in between the two buildings that make up the hotel. I love this hotel!!!  The first time I stayed in the one on the right and this time I stayed in the one on the left.   On the other side of both buildings you can watch the sail boats come in and out of the harbor.   (The water is on both sides of the building and also directly in front of this picture)

Umm… I know that I shared breakfast pictures last time I stayed but in keeping with my “bore you to tears” theme here it is again. This time I will share just a small subset of the amazing breakfast buffet. (Click here Trip to Israel (part 2) to see a more comprehensive view)

Herzliya 03

I had fish every morning.   On the far left you will see the smoked salmon with a sign stating that it was salmon.   This is one of the only fish that I could recognize with certainty.   What I found interesting is that the rest of the fish didn’t have signs. I never knew exactly what I was eating.  I wonder if there were no signs because the cooks didn’t know what they were serving.

Herzliya 04

I also ate some of the nuts and dried fruits but to be honest I mostly ate bread with the honey. There is something special about getting it from the honey comb and this made me want to eat it every day. (you can see the honey comb upright near the nuts and small jars of jam)

Herzliya 05

And yes… I gave into the temptation offered by this part of the breakfast buffet. I do not think I have ever eaten so much desserts for breakfast in all of my life.   This might be my new favorite breakfast… pound cake, cheesecake, and halva!

Herzliya 06

Near the hotel there are great beaches. I had only visited the one south of the hotel not realizing that there was a much larger/nicer beach to the north.  I had a goal to walk along the beach south all the way to Tel Aviv (16 km round trip.. here is a map) but I didn’t get the chance to do this… maybe next time.

Herzliya 07

Herzliya 09

The harbor also has many restaurants and stores and is a fantastic place to wander around aimlessly.  I love watching the cats, people and boats (millions of stray cats everywhere… ummm millions might be a slight exaggeration) .  The food was fantastic as well.  Here are some pictures taken near my hotel at the harbor.

Herzliya 13

If you look closely you will see some cats. One up by the orange sign was the only stray that looked… well like a stray… it’s face was mangled.   I avoided it.  The rest I had no problem being near and if you were eating they had not problem rubbing up to you under the table… eww just thought about the mangled one rubbing up against my leg. Even with pants it would be disgusting.  I would probably have to throw those pants away.

Herzliya 12

My first night there we ate at the harbor at Benny HaDayag (the fisherman).  I was not really hungry but thought that I would get a light fish dish.  I ordered a Moroccan fish dish… I know… not very light but it sounded good.  I had no idea that the order included a bunch of other stuff.

Herzliya 10
We had no idea that this was going to come.  I just wanted a small plate of fish.
Herzliya 11
Here is my fish… it was delicious!

Ok… I am going to stop boring you… well not really…  I want to share some more random pictures… hopefully more entertaining.   I often speak of creating a “coffee table” book.(yes I am all talk no action).   Here is another coffee table book idea.  “Art crap you see by or in the road”… maybe too long of a title. I know, I could just call the book – “Roadside Crap”.

Here are some pictures for that book!

Ocean themed roadside crap!

Herzliya 14
The happy blue whale!  This could only be improved by adding a “whale -spout” fountain
Herzliya 17
Sea snail… kind of nice… well at least in the sunrise it looks kind of nice.

Military themed roadside crap:

Herzliya 19
Old canon… umm… probably something historic?
Herzliya 20
Dual function… art and protection!   They also added a fountain how beautifully scary.

Intimidating or unrecognizable roadside crap:

Herzliya 15
Reminds me of my father when he would find out that I had done something wrong.
Herzliya 18
umm… just don’t know…
Herzliya 16
Big green thing?… um maybe an anchor?

Ok, enough of that… sorry if the pictures were blurred.  I took most of these through a car window while riding in a car. (that was redundant… I can’t imagine a case where I would take a picture through a car window without being in the car)  I have just a couple more pictures to share.

Herzliya 21

 

This was the most confusing bathroom I have ever visited.  The outer signs showed that the entrance was for both men and women.  Once you enter the door you have a women right and a man right set of signs.   I am sorry I didn’t take any pictures inside but from there it got more confusing.

Herzliya 26There were two doors and in between the doors a “man | woman” sign.   I figured that the door on the left would be the man’s door and the door on the right would be for women… but I wasn’t sure.   I was relieved when I saw urinals and started to do my business.  I looked up and then noticed the same “man | woman” sign above my urinal.  What did that mean?  Was this a “unisex” bathroom?  and my biggest question… Can women use a urinal?

Herzliya 22

I am not sure what this sign meant… does it mean I should run down the stairs?.  On the other hand I knew exactly what the following sign meant.   “Danger of Death”… much better warning than “Danger of Electrocution”.

Herzliya 27.jpg

For those wondering, A colleague of mine asked if McDonald’s was the same in Israel.(This would be very important to Ben) My colleague was told that it is exactly the same. You never want to just blindly trust what people say…and luckily we didn’t have to eat there to validate this since I was able to find absolute confirmation!

Herzliya 25

Herzliya 24
I discovered a new candy bar…   CORNY BIG…   (I have been called worse)
Herzliya 28
This is one of Ben’s favorite.  Not only did he like the big chess game, he loved what he called “EGG CHAIRS”

For the end, I want to share with you a statue I saw at a park in Ra’anana.  I was not able to get a picture so I borrowed one from the internet… (I usually don’t do that…  on this blog the photos are always mine).

I post this not just because it is fun to look at but it also serves as a public service warning.   For those of you who have not enough reasons for avoiding the accordion here is one big reason that should dissuade you from playing this awful musical instrument.

Herzliya 23

Thanks for taking the time to read me again.

 

8 thoughts on “Weekend Home – Wrap up for trip to Israel”

  1. I’ve always wondered why I wasn’t an accordion fan. Now I know:)
    The photos as always are fantastic! I love the egg chairs and the whale.
    Did you ever ask why there are so many stray cats? Do they keep down the pest problem? Are they revered? Are the too smart to catch?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You really managed to capture so much with your photos. It’s fascinating to see how what is so familiar and understandable for me, looks like to a tourist.
    Israeli breakfast is indeed very varied and generous, but with all that I still remember guests complaining about the lack of meats…
    Not sure why they didn’t put the signs for the fish, but as much as I can see, from the left you have: smoked kippers, salted herring, smoked Lakerda (a type of mackerel) and sweet-sour pickled herring. So you were eating good stuff! 🙂
    The image in the photo that reminded you of your father is of Theodore Herzl, who is considered to be the “Visionary of the State”. So no wonder he looks like he’s watching over with criticism! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This fish was incredible… and now it is nice to know what I was eating. I was introduced this time to the story of Theodore Herzl. I feel a bit stupid since the picture was taken in Herzliya (city named after him)… and I should have guessed it was him… Thanks for you comments!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

