Strasbourg, France 2017

I would be amiss if I didn’t share some pictures of my wife’s home town… Strasbourg.   (Located in Alsace…  Just writing that makes me chuckle… pronounced “Al’s a**” ).  I am going to share some pictures taken while out walking.

Strasbourg 03.jpg

Thursday we dropped off the rental car and started our walk home.   On the way home we ended up at Flam’s.   Isabelle does not feel like we have really visited “Alsace” until we have eaten some “Tarte Flambe”.  This is one of the little “traditions” we have adopted since she left her home to come live with me.  (With that said… I did build a brick oven in our backyard so we could make these at home. They are delicious)

We all have our little “habitudes” when we get here. (Habitude→ Habit, Custom, Way) One of my “habitudes” is walking… lots of walking.  Because I wanted to spend time with the kids and wife…and because I think everyone should be like me…  I asked, begged, bribed and shamed the rest of the family into going out and walking with me.   (Isabelle wasn’t hard… the rest… well…)

Strasbourg 01

Here is yesterdays’ walking… 26 km (16 miles) over 4 and 1/2 hours.  If you look closely there is a McDonald’s stop.   This happened to be one of my bribes.  We invited Uncle Jack, Mami(Isabelle’s mother), Cousin Josh and Jarod and the children walked to and from McDonald’s which is about 6 km.

Strasbourg 02
Ben is missing… playing in the back with his “new friends”… while Isabelle was telling everyone how many calories they were eating.  (She is not a big fan of McDonalds)… I usually wont eat there either but ended up eating a hotdog.  (Didn’t know they had hotdogs at McDonalds and it wasn’t bad… well for McDonalds)

 

 

Strasbourg 06
Sam and Gwen in front of the colza (rapeseed) fields.

The two older children… Sam and Gwen…  decided to stay with me after McDonald’s and walk along the canal de la Bruche.  This is definitely one of my favorite walks.   Beautiful for miles and away from the noise and pollution of the city.   It is also a very easy walk since it is  paved and almost completely flat.

Strasbourg 04
I take a picture of this farm every year. (bet it is already in this blog…)  This is my dream home and it is right next to the canal trail… hmm someday.
Strasbourg 05
I only took this picture while walking on along the canal… and it is just after the canal.   (11 km later).   I think I was busy trying to get the kids to stop looking at their telephones.

The canal trail connects to a trail along the “Ill” river which leads into Strasbourg.   This is also a fantastic walk… and it leads to one of the more “picturesque” parts of Strasbourg.   This trail also happened at a fortunate time since the kids were starting to be bored with “nature” and were asking for something more “urban”… with pastries.  (Gwen doesn’t like McDonald’s and hadn’t eaten yet).

Strasbourg 07
Crossing this bridge (on the roof…) and taking pictures is also an every year tradition.  The feature and the following picture are taking from the top of this bridge.
Strasbourg 08
You can take some amazing photos from this view point… especially panoramic shots.  I have this picture in my bathroom… hmm  not sure why it is in my bathroom.
Strasbourg 09
Pont Couvert…   pretty awesome… Just after this bridge is Petit France, Strasbourg… One of the first things I saw when Isabelle brought me to her home town… I took the children on the very path she took me and of course… the kids didn’t care… jesh
Strasbourg 11
Entering Petit France… in front is a small bridge that swivels to let the boats pass.  I often stop and take a picture on this bridge.
Strasbourg 10
Here is a picture from that bridge.   I am looking the opposite way of the feature picture.
Strasbourg 12
Looking the opposite direction I can see the “locks” opening and letting a tourist boat through.  I once watched one of the gates get jammed by a log…  (when you have nothing to do… anything can be exciting)
Strasbourg 13
This is looking towards the bridge and you can see that it has swiveled open to let the tourist boat pass.
Strasbourg 15
Some of you may not know this but Johannes Gutenberg lived a good portion of his life in Strasbourg.
Strasbourg 16
Here is the cathedral of Strasbourg…  This was blown up in beginning part of one of the Sherlock Holmes film
Strasbourg 14
Another view of the cathedral and also one of the oldest buildings in Strasbourg the Maison Kammerzell.   Isabelle and I ate here with some close friends…   (Choucroute of course)

Sam and Gwen were real “troopers” for this walk. (saying that makes me feel so old)  I am not sure they enjoyed it like I did but they didn’t complain and Gwen got her “pain au chocolat”.

I will post one more time before I leave France.  I am starting to pack and getting that anxious feeling I always have just before I leave.  I wonder why leaving for home always makes me stressed…   I have been saving up some of my more strange (or if you know me typical) vacation pictures for the last post…  keep in touch I hope they don’t disappoint.

6 thoughts on “Strasbourg, France 2017”

  1. Oh, how enthralling your photos are…just stunning, and a real blessing! And don’t get me started on the farm/your dream home/landscape–I am soooooo in love with it! As for feeling of being stressed out at the prospect of returning home after vacation, I fight that feeling every Sunday…whether a couple days off, weeks….what have you, a return to “every-day-life” can be experienced as turbulence…it puts me in mind of a quote I’ve heard…”I want a life I don’t need a vacation from.” Thanks for sharing and being a consistent source of inspiration, amusement, and wonder 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Your kids might not appreciate it now, but they are very lucky to see where their mom grew up, and to have her show them places she loved. My dad was from Germany, but since he’s gone now….
    Sorry, didn’t mean to be down. The pictures are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely pictures and a great walk, even with McDonalds thrown in. (Though actually, visiting Mickey D’s in other countries is sometimes a more pleasant experience than the US version. I’d go to one in NZ any day!) The kids will one day remember and appreciate all the special things that you’ve pointed out to them. I’m sure they’ll remember some if not all of it, but if they didn’t give you the impression that your every word is incredibly embarrassing or boring, they wouldn’t be doing their job as kids. Also, I’m glad you guys weren’t in Paris for the attack there (right?) which seems like something that happens here all too frequently. Safe travels!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

