Bubbles, Bugs, Markets and Crotte!

One of the great things about vacations is that you can spend the entire day doing stupid or weird things.  I really like doing stupid and weird things and I spent a good moment just watching bubbles.   I will talk more about them in a moment but before I do I want to present you with some random stuff from my walking.

The kids and I went for a walk… one of those walks where you end up going no where and it takes you hours to get there.  (vacation walks)  I told them lady bugs were good luck (especially if you eat them…  ) so we were hunting lady bugs.

France 12
Here is the first lady bug we found.   Sam took this picture with my camera… what a great picture.  I told him he could have my camera if he could get mom to buy me a new one.  (I know how to work the family system)
France 13
Here is the next one… Gwen found this one and I think there is something wrong.  I have never seen a black lady bug with red spots!   Must be the result of toxic waste someone dumped… (hmmm… we were next to a cemetery)

Ok… Enough lady bug pictures… I am sure you are waiting for nice pictures of France.   Before I show you those I want to share another thing.

I have been “chronicling” Oberhausbergen’s (wife’s home town) struggles and various campaigns against dog poo.   Last year I had a blog post dedicated to their “lute contre la crotte”. (Sign with dogs bum taped up  … click if you are curious).  This year they are still vigorously working to eradicate poo pollution.

France 14
This sign states that it isn’t magic… (difficult) just pick it up… My THOUGHTS… what good is magic if you can’t make poo disappear?

Enough poo…   hmm that brings to mind one more thing.   It is asparagus season in Alsace.   I love asparagus!!!  We were all having a spring scavenger hunt on “Isabelle’s Hill” and my asparagus craving got the best of me… so I took off for a brief moment.

France 16.jpg
I walked over to a local farmer’s coop  called “Hop’la”.
France 15
I purchased some asparagus….   this was a bit expensive but I like supporting local farmers.   Unfortunately I couldn’t get any of the kids to eat this… even with the promise of stinky pee…
France 17
Here I am catching back up to the group…. who were busily searching out “spring” things for their hunt.   They all mocked me saying I looked like the “man in yellow” from curious George.  (Could have been worse they could have said I looked like the monkey)
France 18
Walking back from our hunt… Gwen and  Ben were a bit disappointed that it was over already.
France 19
Some of the others… like Sam… were ready to get home.   I kept having to call them and tell them to wait up.

Time for the bubbles!..   There are moments that I feel like I have the perfect idea for a “brillant” coffee table book…  Here is another idea…  Bubbles across Europe.

Bubbles 00

Bubbles 01

Bubbles 03

Bubbles 06

Bubbles 07
This one looks like a ghost chasing after the children.

I watched a homeless man entertain many children and (my favorite part) annoy oblivious passing pedestrians with his bubble blowing.   The children loved this…  and so did I…especially since every now and again a bubble would escape and blow across the square hitting some un-expecting adult…  wished I had a picture of that!  (these bubbles left a nice soapy mark… it was awesome).  I spent almost an hour watching this. I was also eating a “mixte”.   This is one of my favorite lunches in France.   Most of the bakeries will have premade sandwiches.   A “mixte” is the name that “Paul” (if you want to see a picture click on the link) calls its ham, butter, and cheese sandwich on a baguette.   I promise it is fantastic.

I am really sorry this post is very random…

Last thing… Markets… I love the markets in France…  Here are a couple of the markets we have visited.

France 20

France 21

I promise to update you soon on this trip!… I will post more pictures but I can’t promise that those pictures will be more interesting than bugs or poo…  I am tired of the bubbles… so no more bubbles (promise)

 

 

14 thoughts on “Bubbles, Bugs, Markets and Crotte!”

  1. Love the bubble photos. Really, what a great life calling for the man making them. His desire is to make children laugh and smile, and to make adults look up at the world around them. I’d say he’s got something right.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your vacation photos are wonderful! I can’t believe how big the bubbles are. Amazing!
    I could use a couple of those poo signs for my lawn. We have a few inconsiderate dog owners who pass by regularly.
    I can’t wait for your next post:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A little random and a lot of fun – what holidays are supposed to be! And speaking of, you are in France, so perhaps you should finish by enjoying some of our best (drinkable) bubbles?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As you know… there are so many wonderful things to eat and drink in France!… I have watched the TV several nights… you had a post about the 2017 elections… and I just watched an 11 person debate. (Incredible)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, yes, yes….coffee table books…and, bubbles have to feature in one!!!!!! Those and your narrative are the stuff of magic…and, yes, the man in yellow from Curious George–your family is hilarious 🙂 Also, “it’s not magic”, followed up by your smarty-pants observation about poo made me laugh so hard inside (I’m lounging and too lazy to rouse myself to engage in externalized activities) 🙂 And, as always, your photos (and those of your son!) are beyond appreciated…just gorgeous….thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I am going to make a coffee book on truly comments… I would call it words to make you feel good about yourself… You are always such a thoughtful person. I really appreciate you taking the time to read my posts and especially writing such kind comments.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

