Weekend Felting

Isabelle walked into my “man cave” this weekend…  looked at me while scrunching up her face and finally asked…  “Are you felting now?”.   I couldn’t tell if she was surprised or frustrated. (I am always starting something new and it often either comes with a cost or a big mess)  I affirmed that she was correct and told here that I was pleased that she recognized what I was doing.   (I wouldn’t have known what I was doing had I not been YouTubing felting…  I probably would have thought it was some weird voodoo thing.)

Felting 02.jpg

I decided to start my felting experiments with a kit and I purchased one from Etsy- FeltHoppy  (kind of a good get ready for Easter project).  After having finished this kit… I don’t believe it is necessary to purchase a kit to start felting.  With that said, it is nice to have some instructions and I found that the “pre-measured” amounts of felt and drawings that were “actual” size helped to make this felting novice much more successful.  (I will let you judge how well I succeeded)

Felting 03

I started with the head and for those who are not familiar with felting it starts with wool fibers (I am  not sure what other fibers work for felting… I do know human hair will not work).  You will also note that there is a felting needle and some foam.   The felting needle is specialized and I am not sure if you can use something else… (don’t just get a normal needle it will not work)   Felting this rabbit is a lot like sculpting.   What is interesting is that you sculpt by poking the fibers with the felting needle repeatedly.   This needle poking made me think of the “voodoo” reference.

Felting 04

Above you can see the final size of the head after I have poked it… and when I say “poked it” I mean that I have poked it a lot.   I realized something about myself while poking this and that is I really like poking things…. hmm..   That doesn’t sound right… maybe I should say stabbing?… wow that might even be worse.  Let me just keep this appropriate by saying that I found the process of felting very enjoyable.   For those of you like me who look for short cuts or ways to get things done quickly… watch that you are not poking too aggressively or too deep.   Poking hard, fast, or deep does not make it turn  into felt any quicker.  If you are too aggressive you also risk breaking the felting needle.   Look closely at the needle in the picture above and you will see the tip poking out separated from the needle.  I got over excited and yes… I broke my felting needle.  I had to go out and buy a new one.  (The only thing I could recommend for making this kit better is to include a spare needle)

Felting 05

Once I got the head done I started poking the ears out.. and move on to each part of the body.   To connect pieces you leave the fibers “un-poked” where they would connect to the other part… then you poke those fibers into the other part making them fuse.  Did I tell you how much I like poking.   There is one thing I don’t like about poking and that is when the needle misses the felt and finds flesh.   Here is another piece of advice… Don’t poke yourself… it hurts.   I ended up with several bandages. I will not tell you how many since I know there are people out there that will take joy in hearing that I hurt myself repeatedly.

 

Felting 06.jpg
Ears connected to the head… and a little bit of “white” felt.   I relate to this since I am finding that the older I get… the more white hairs I find growing out of my ears.

 

Felting 07
Eyes sewed on… not poked… and sewing is not as fun.

 

Felting 08
Working on the body and adding white chest hair… (was going to say that I can relate to that… but hmm maybe too much personal information)

Felting 09

 

 

Here is the final rabbit!   I found this to be a very fun interesting project.  Surprisingly it did not take too much time to completed… plus I got to poke things.   I think I might try to felt some of the pink alpaca fibers into an Easter egg for the bunny… (dont’ know yet how well alpaca will work).   That is all for this week. I recommend giving this a try… you might be surprised at how much you like poking!

 

 

32 thoughts on “Weekend Felting”

  1. Most fibers will felt, however dual coated animal fiber that hasn’t been well separated (llama for example) may not felt well- but it depends on your mill/fleece/animal.
    You might try wet felting a pair of slippers for her and then needle felting a pretty design on it. Maybe then she’ll be happier about the new project?

    Liked by 1 person

          1. Depends on where you live and what you want it for, example- the mill I use is small, I pay shipping both ways and he charges per pound and won’t return 100% alpaca. But he’s really good at what he does- at least for my uses. He also prefers to do each fleece as its own batch unless you know the risks. 😁 He also lets me send fiber to be processed with a dollar amount cap that includes all the steps to the batts, the mix-ins and dyes.

            Some mills show their whole pricing schematic online- you pick how far into the process you want them to go.

            Before you chose a place (if you do decide to send it out for picking and carding), make sure they can tell you how they make sure you’ll get your fleece back, how they promise you won’t get moth eggs back and what timeframe to expect it back in. Most places charge based on the incoming weight of the fleece, so over skirting it and making sure it is dry dry dry will help in the cost department.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Cutest rabbit ever!! Felting looks like fun. Stabbing/poking would be fun I suppose, until one pokes them self. Are you going to try something wearable? I’ve seen some very fashionable hats that have felted designs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cute rabbit!! Have you just made an animal replica of yourself, grey and white and all…? Pls don’t be shy, share a pic of your hands and feet (and wherever else you managed to stab). Poking is a secret fetish of mine too, I will check out felting then. 🙂
    Perhaps you should introduce us to your man cave next time (I assume it’s a basement, but if it’s a separate house I would be really jealous again!). In Sydney property prices are too high for men to own any semblance of a man cave (my husband has his own bathroom, perhaps that qualifies).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can see you poking things with sharp objects… My man cave is just an office (I use to have a room in the basement but that is now the “game room”) Fortunately house prices are very reasonable here… otherwise Isabelle would have my mess everywhere.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nah, nothing sharp yet. I just like to use my finger to poke the fleshy parts known as human flab and watch the dent that I make. Weird huh. American houses have so many rooms!! I bet you have like 6 bedrooms, 7 bathrooms, 5 living rooms, 3 game rooms, 2 offices, a gym, and god knows what else… 😶

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice! Somehow felting seems an entirely appropriate project for you. And seriously, that’s a way better attempt than any of my felting attempts. I hope you continue this particular hobby for a bit, I’d love to see more!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Welcome to the needle felting world! Now you know how fun it can be (and yes, poking the needle through the wool repeatedly is therapeutic). I’m glad you liked the experience and hope you try again.

    Alpaca works as a felting fibre as well, but depending on the type you get, it can feel “hairier” and much thinner in your hands, and so you’ll have a harder time getting the final shape done. I personally prefer wool batts for sculpting.

    I made a felting kit for beginners – a couple of toadstools on a wood base – and it was quite the success! Took me ages to get the whole instructions going, though. If your kit had good instructions, and it seems it did, then you know the person who created it spent a lot of time making sure it was all good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh gosh, I didn’t talk about mine as a sales pitch! I hope it didn’t sound that way (sorry if it did). Etsy is going to have a new website just for craft supplies, I’m sure you’ll be able to find loads of stuff there soon 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. no worries… It didn’t sound like a sales pitch… I actually saw your kit some time ago… and when I finally decided to try this I thought it would be a perfect thing to start with… I went back to try to find it… but I couldn’t…

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Adam, you are such a delightful soul…and I can’t tell you how much I adore your bunny–it is awesome! !! Thanks for making my mouth, and heart, smile…white hairs growing out of your ears…hahahah…thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, that is so adorable. I read it all, but I am still not sure how poking a bunch of fibre with a needle can make such a cute rabbit. A friend over the road felts and she is always being asked by people at craft fairs if she could felt their dog or cat hair – now that is pretty weird! She also gets people asking if they will knit her jumpers from their dog/cat hair, but then I remember you did something similar with your hair which for the record is not weird at all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. when you spoke about your neighbor… I envisioned them poking live dogs or cats… (felting their hair)… I think a felted animal (live animal with their hair turned to felt) would be awesome… cruel but awesome. Several comments up… you have a comment from Leonor… who creates some of the best felted animals I have ever seen…. very talented person.

      here is a link to her site: https://feltbuddiesblog.co.uk/

      Like

      1. Would it be possible to felt their hair without poking their skin – maybe when they are asleep as well – that way it would be ethically OK – I would love to see my cats with mini felted versions of themselves along their tail for example. Oh, I looked at Leonor’s blog and it is amazing – how clever is she? I love her felted creations 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

