Wine Making (Final)

Here is the follow up to the previous wine making posts. (Weekend with Wine Making (part one)  –  Wine Making (part 2)  –  Wine Making (part 3) )  I have bottled up the wine and although it still is very young offered it to a co-worker/wine expert lets call him Owen and his panel of expert wine tasters.   Before we get to their review I would like to show the bottling of the wine.

wine-making-1

Here is the carboy with the wine that has been fermenting (I like to think of it rotting) for the past 5 to 6 months.  The color has deepened from the light pink to a darker red/pink not sure about the color kind of reminds me of Hawaiian punch.   In the feature picture I showed all of the bottles I had to clean all of the bottles and I used more campden tablets crushed into water for the final rinse.  I also sterilized all of the tubing and other equipment.

wine-making-2

I siphoned the wine into the bottles using my racking cane.  I am not sure that I need to have the carboy so high but it makes it much more dramatic.   There was sediment in the bottom of the cardboy even though I had racked the wine so I made sure the cane didn’t go all the way to the bottom of the carboy.

wine making 3

wine-making-3

When you put the wine in the bottle you do not want it being poured through air so attached to the tube is a wine bottle filler.   This opens and allows the wine to flow when it is pushed against the bottom of the bottle.  This means that the bottles are filed from the bottom up.

wine-making-4

wine-making-5

I worried when I purchased the single handled corker that it would be much more difficult than the two handled model. (I got it because it was cheaper… )  I found that the single handle corker worked perfectly and was surprised how easy it was to push the cork into the bottle.

wine-making-6

Here is the finally bottle.  I filled up 12 bottles (kind of surprised at how much I got).  Maybe I should have made a label… but I am not sure I want to until I know if it is good or not.

There is a major problem with me determining if the wine is good.   I don’t drink alcohol…  I would not have any idea if it is good or not.   I do cook with wine and it smelled like wine… but have no idea what good wine would taste like.   I follow several wine bloggers and I wished I could have them taste it and let me know.    Fortunately co-worker Owen was having a wine tasting evening and I donated a bottle for the event.  Owen was concerned that the wine was too young.

Here is his review:

We tried your wine last night.
The general consensus, based on those at the party who are in the know, is that the wine was exposed to the air at some point and is likely only suitable for vinegar. It is possible that it just needs to age another 6 months to a year, as the acids can sometimes get confused for alcohol, particularly for such a young wine. Based on the alcohol percentage you told me, it may be the latter, but the darkened color of the wine led a couple of the guests to think it’s more likely air exposure.

(I am just glad none of them our blind, hospitalized or worse dead)

5 thoughts on “Wine Making (Final)”

  1. Oh no! Hopefully there are better reviews in 6-12 months! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear at that point. Meanwhile, you can start googling meals with vinegar so that you are able to use up all of those bottles if needed in that form.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really want to start making my own wine too. I definitely plan on having the number to Poison Control handy when I have a tasting. Just. In. Case. If vinegar is the worst that happened, that’s not too shabby for a first attempt, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

