Weird Pictures of the Day (India)

I am finally at my destination!!!  Pune!!! and it only took me 30+ hours of flying, driving and waiting.   As I promised I will be posting some pictures of India.  I want to add a disclaimer.  I have been told that I don’t take great “vacation” pictures.   You may be getting a better glimpse of who I am rather than the “true” India.  I know that I have some readers from India.   I will try to share some of the amazing things you find in India… but this is weird weekends and I am weird… so it I will also be sharing things I find (in my ethnocentricity) weird… please don’t take offense.

india-trip-3
I arrived in Mumbai just after midnight and this is a view from my airplane window… Not sure what I am really looking at… but there are lots of lights.
india-trip-4
Here is a picture of me at the airport.   Actually it is the airport carpet and part of my shoe.  I took this because a co-worker… lets call him Nate (to protect his identity) said… wow this is exactly the carpet I expected to see in India.   (I really had not set any carpet expectations for India… but I am glad Nate’s expectations were met)

We spent the first night in Mumbai in the Sahara Star Hotel next to the airport.  This hotel was fantastic and I give it a very high rating for style, cleanliness and hospitality…. but as my luck goes… I got there at 2:00 am and left at 8:00 a.m… only 6 hours.

india-trip-5
Front lobby of the Sahara Star Hotel.   Beautiful… but just between you and I the Christmas presents under the tree are fake… all of them were very light and when I shook them nothing rattled or moved.  
India Trip 6.jpg
Here is my room in the hotel.   I loved the sloped windows you see opposite of the bed.   That entire wall was windows with a view  of the city.  I would have taken a picture with them open but   I was unable to figure out how to lift/raise the blinds…I blame it on jet lag.  (I found out after I left that the white remote you see on the desk controlled them)

We left Mumbai for Pune at 8:00am we had hired a driver and it took us about 4 hours to travel 141 km.   I found that drive to be incredibly interesting. I took several short videos of this drive and I will put them together and share the video in another post.     There were so many things to see,  hear, and learn.   As an example… I learned that you have to honk your horn at least two or three times per km.   We were joking about this until we started noticing the backs of trucks.

india-trip-7
Notice the words on the back of this truck.  “Horn OK Please”. 
india-trip-8
Here is another example… “Horn Please”.   Also if you look on the left side of the word “Horn” you will see a dire warning to “Stop”…

 

india-trip-12
Speaking of “Dire” warnings… can any of my Indian friends help me under stand this sign?  What exactly is a “Service Gap”?… and why would I need to take “caution”?… will it really kill me?

 

Another thing that I learned on this journey is that it becomes extremely tedious if you count men “relieving” themselves on the side of the express way… (I stopped after 30)

india-trip-9
Here are two gentlemen caught in the act. (I had stopped counting by this time).  I decided to take a picture to “capture and share” the moment… and then I noticed the sign.   hmmm…   I am not sure I understand this…   Am I missing something?… is this really the best spot?… do your really need a sign if it is just the side of the road?… and last… is this not a stretch of the definition of “toilet”?
india-trip-10
As you can see my hotel in Pune is not quite as nice as the hotel in Mumbai.   (This isn’t my hotel…) After seeing this I am going to have to be more liberal with my ratings and reviews.  I am not sure I will ever be able to say in the future “worst hotel”  since this one will be almost impossible to beat…  It truly is the “gold” standard for bad. 
india-trip-11
I am actually staying at the Courtyard Marriott… and I am in luck  they just added “Indian Flavours” to their buffet.   Wonder why they made that decision?… and how long did they not have an “Indian selection”…hmmm… plus they used an “Indian Chief” to represent “South American” and an elephant for” Indian”?…  (last question… promise)…South African? (not that there is anything wrong with South African Food)  but why before Indian?…   who is making these choices… seems so odd)… Is anyone else confused?

I have so much more to share… so please keep an eye out for my next post…. (sneak preview… have any of you been frisked while entering a grocery store?)

oh… ya I had better share something nice as well…(not just weird).   As we drove I caught catch glimpses of truly amazing sites… (wished I had more time to take it all in)

 

 

 

India Trip 13.jpg
As we drove, I am not sure I was able to truly process all that I was seeing.   I was mesmerized, amazed, and fascinated by small glimpses like I am sharing in this picture.  This small  look has so much eye candy (not even a “tourist destination”).. and we were driving so fast… can’t wait to sneak away from work and truly take in all the visual wonders India has to offer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Weird Pictures of the Day (India)”

  1. Very confused on the “honk” thing! Do let us know what it’s all about when you find out! And the toilet… is it only for men? Because women never need to relieve themselves because we’re made of sugar and spice, right?…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Leonor… The sign didn’t have a man icon or a women icon and it did read “toilet” so I imagined it was unisex… (not sure that is the right word). In any case… I didn’t see any women urinating in public… and had I seen them I think I would have felt really creepy taking their pictures…

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Should your current career not work out please consider travel guide or travel writer. I enjoyed your view of India day 1 & 2 (or whatever days) so much. I hope you find out about the “Service Gap” sign. I think I’d drive off the road if I saw that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for continuing with the weird picture of the day tradition. I hope to visit India one day, but until then I’ll just have to live vicariously through your weird pictures. Safe travels, dad! Miss you lots.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Does it mean that’s where motorway maintenance teams access the road? Or where police wait to catch offending motorists or where repairs are done to broken down vehicles? This would require drivers to be aware that there may be vehicles and people working nearby.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Is it just me, or is your hotel room in Mumbai just a shoebox?? If I were you, I would be kicking myself for not opening those blinds (or even ripping them open, if it had come to that)… It is definitely a very queer set of photos let’s put it mildly…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the ridiculous-to-sublime vibe of this post….the absolutely gorgeous hotel lobby and room, to the men relieving themselves revelation…and, what had me laughing inside was the thought of you counting the number of “gentlemen” relieving themselves–not to impose an ethnocentric value judgement, but gentlemen and peeing on the side of the road sounds funny to me (funny ha-ha, that is). And, I thoroughly enjoy how your narrative conjures up a dry sense of humour accompanied by a mischievous twinkle in the eye….such warmth and generosity…thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nice Observations!! It is really nice to read observations about your country from someone foreign to it. Because as a local you never notice it. But I can assure you that you will like India. It is a land of contradictions and extreme diversities. If you can somehow manage with traffic it has lot to offer. Have a great trip !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved what I saw and experienced… It is an amazing place. I will be returning in two weeks and this time I will be prepared to truly see India… the first time is such a sensory overload… I hope to capture this next time some of the beauty of india in my blog

      Like

Leave a Reply

