Promised Tatting Video

Last weekend I promised to post a “how to tat” video… and SO… Here it is!   Before you get excited or have any strange ideas this is not “tattooing” although that may be coming soon.  This is tatting and if you don’t know what I am talking about see last weekend’s post Weekend with Tatting

tatting-03

Here is another image (a “corner”) of the edging I am currently working on.  If you are able to understand the video and “learn” how to do the basic knot, ring, picot, and chain, you will be able to do most patterns you find on the internet including this edging and the snowflake pattern I posted last weekend.

Here is the video.  Boy I hate watching videos of myself and there are times when my hands and work is not in the camera… I hope that this is good enough to help you get started.  If you are awesome at doing things you will be surprised how easy this is.  If you are like me, you will need to spend a couple of hours(could be days) figuring it out.  Please don’t get discouraged the knot flip from one string to the other will happen… eventually.

Please let me know if this was helpful or if you have any questions.

15 thoughts on “Promised Tatting Video”

  1. I have to admit, for a second I thought you were going to show us that you can tattoo in addition to all of your other creativity. Then, I remembered the silver piece you used to make that really cool looking faded print with fancy trim. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. None of the videos (maybe 3 total) I watched after your first post showed the flip – the flip changes everything (not that I’ve tried tatting, but my concept of it is pretty different now). Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The diversity of your interests is fascinating….just remarkable…and your hand-eye coordination and dexterity is impressive as well…I don’t know where you come up with these things….obviously you are guided by curiosity and an adventurous spirit, and those in the know are fortunate to bear witness to your many projects, adventures and tutorials…never gets old…thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really lovely project and something heretofore unseen….and the diversity of your interests is fascinating….just remarkable…and your hand-eye coordination and dexterity is impressive as well…I don’t know where you come up with these things….obviously you are guided by curiosity and an adventurous spirit, and those in the know are fortunate to bear witness to your many projects, adventures and tutorials…never gets old…thanks for sharing 🙂 P.S. The afghan looks great on the couch 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

